23
Aug
08

Dang! I thought it *was* funny.

How much do people hate bad jokes? Apparently, quite a lot.

According to the Associated Press, a Washington State University professor who studies “failed humor” found that when people tell a bad joke among their friends, they risk everything from malevolent glares to a punch on the arm. Surprisingly, the better the audience knows the joke teller, the more risk the joke teller runs.

The article includes the joke that the researched used as a test. Oddly, I thought the joke was a riot. I don’t know precisely what this means, but it could explain a lot of things in my life. I must think on this.

2 Responses to “Dang! I thought it *was* funny.”


  1. 1 blogoffanddie
    August 23, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    A guy goes up to the airline ticket booth to get a flight to New York.
    “I want a flight to New York but, I want this bag to go to Los Angeles and this other bag to Miami.” The clerk replies, “Sorry, sir, I’m afraid our airline can’t do that for you.”
    The man replies, “Why not? You did it the last time I flew to New York.”

  2. 2 jkaufeld
    August 24, 2008 at 12:55 am

    That’s a “laugh and wince” joke for me, thanks to all of the air travel I did several years ago.

    On one memorable trip home, my large video projector case missed the connection through Dallas. When I called to follow-up the next day (as Continental told me to), they cheerfully informed me that they found my case and that it would re-enter the country that afternoon. Apparently, the case got bored in Dallas and booked a side trip to Bogota on its own.

    Of course, I immediately had visions of flak vest-wearing DEA agents surrounding me I picked up the case from the airport…

    “Is this your case, Mr. Kaufeld?”
    “Yes, but it’s not me — it’s the case’s fault. I begged it not to go, sir, but it insisted. Its step-sister is a Playstation, and needs surgery so she can play Nintendo games and live a normal life. Please, officer — it’s not my fault!”

    Thanks for sharing the laugh!!!


Leave a Reply

